St Barnabas Parish > Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders

What is Holy Orders?

By the power of the Holy Spirit, the Risen Christ continues to lead His flock here on earth through the ministerial priesthood ordained for this purpose through the Sacrament of Holy Orders.  This particular sacrament is called ‘orders’ because there are three participatory degrees to this sacrament, all ‘ordered’ to one another.  The three orders are bishop, priest and deacon; all ordered to serve in distinct yet interconnected ways.  We are all by our baptism part of the common priesthood of Jesus Christ, but from among the faithful some are chosen for the ministerial priesthood and ‘ordered’ in a special way to be at service of the common priesthood.  The ordained priesthood is a means by which Jesus Christ builds up and leads His Church here on earth (CCC 1544-1547).

Untitled design (5)

Interested in becoming a Priest?

If you are a single, baptized man and wonder if God may be calling you to be His priest, please contact our Pastor, Fr. Hansoo Park and visit the Office of Vocations website

If you are a single or married baptized man who would like to know more about or interested in becoming a permanent deacon, please contact our Pastor, Fr. Hansoo Park

“I have separated you from other people, that you should be Mine.” 

Leviticus 20:26

Upcoming Events

Our Vision for What’s Ahead

Our purpose is to reach people with the life-giving message of Jesus that they might become fully devoted followers of Christ. We filter every idea, program, and budget request through this vision.

This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience.